WFLIC is part of the worldwide Welcome Clubs International network. The membership of Welcome to Florida International Club (WFLIC) consists of women from 35 different countries.  About half of the membership is American.  The club is most active from November through April. During the summer, there are monthly informal luncheons at restaurants throughout Naples so year-round members have a chance to see each other.  The club offers many interest groups for women to interact with each other and share cultural activities. We welcome women of all nationalities.  The language of the club is English.


Building Bridges of International Understanding


Friendship through Understanding – Understanding through Friendship


Our club, Welcome to Florida, was founded on February 26, 1986, at the Hilton Hotel, Marco Island, Florida. We are patterned after the Welcome to Washington International Club, which was founded by Marian Adair in 1959.


Marian Adair (1908-2004), our founder, was the wife of the late E. Ross Adair, who served as a U.S. Congressman from Indiana for 27 years. After his term of office, he was appointed Ambassador to Ethiopia for three years. Marian saw a great need for the bonding of US and international women coming into the Washington DC area, so, she founded International Club I in 1953. Four International Clubs and four International Neighbors Clubs were formed, each with limited memberships. In 1959, the Welcome to Washington International Club was organized with an unlimited membership to offer an opportunity for more international and US women to join together. Marian’s dream was to have many “Welcome Clubs.” This dream is being realized.


The Marian Adair award was established in 1993 to recognize members for their dedicated and outstanding service to our club.

Patricia B. Adams 1993
Carolyn M. Brown* 1995
Phyllis J. Liebman 1996
Ruth Prater 1998
Elizabeth Violante 1999
Donna E. Baker 2000
Mary Lou Kelley 2002
Bettina Kopchick 2004
Kay Ruel 2004
Mary Anne Schulz 2007
Nancy Furstner 2010
Lois Saldukas 2012
Donna Suddeth 2015
Isabel Etkin 2017
Elizabeth Cottingham 2019